JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hi. I started researching guns in preparation for a news article (I work as a news reporter) and I've since become fascinated with the general culture around gun ownership. I just went through a background check today in Taos in preparation for purchasing my first firearm.

Is anyone else on this website in an area around the northern Rio Grande?

I am not but curious about your story of how you came to be Interested in firearms on a deeper level.
Initially I had a very limited understanding of firearms. I was not raised around them and I grew up with a naive ide that they are not regulated enough. Now that I'm speaking with more gun owners and researching more on how firearms operate and how they are practically sold, I think I have a better understanding of them as a tool as well as the culture around them. Every gun owner I've spoken with in my area values safety very highly and it doesn't seem right to punish law-abiding citizens for the actions of criminals.

Initially I had a very limited understanding of firearms. I was not raised around them and I grew up with a naive ide that they are not regulated enough. Now that I'm speaking with more gun owners and researching more on how firearms operate and how they are practically sold, I think I have a better understanding of them as a tool as well as the culture around them. Every gun owner I've spoken with in my area values safety very highly and it doesn't seem right to punish law-abiding citizens for the actions of criminals.
It's also fun to shoot guns.👍

I'm not in your area, so good luck.
What kind of gun did you get for a first gun? are you going to go all in with a CCW? Maybe some competitions?
If you prefer privacy, you have plenty of desert to shoot in. DR

I'm not in your area, so good luck.