JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Ever wonder why some 4th advocates state citizens shouldn't allow the traffic cop, during a traffic stop, to 'take' your firearm under Heller auspices of "officer safety". While in their possession they run citizen's firearms through NCIC - traced, as the article states.

Article quote:
Law enforcement agencies may request firearms traces for any reason," the report said. "Not all firearms used in crime are traced and not all firearms traced are used in crime. Unquote.

No thank you officer, I do not consent to your taking my permitted/licensed SD firearm, your positive consideration is appreciated!

Now may I help you officer or am I free to go?

Oh BTW, this conversation is being recorded.

Am i free to go officer?

Most recovered and traced in Las Vegas. Lots o' crime, down there. As a trucker, I've been to Vegas about 200 times. I like being over 400 miles away...

Just about every time someone is stopped by a cop they run the numbers on guns just to check and see if it is stolen or not.
They will also do a check on you to see if you are a prohibited possessor or not.
I don't think you have a choice in the matter if they want to take your gun during a legal stop.
Supposedly they have the right to hold your gun during a stop " for their protection ".

Just about every time someone is stopped by a cop they run the numbers on guns just to check and see if it is stolen or not.
They will also do a check on you to see if you are a prohibited possessor or not.
I don't think you have a choice in the matter if they want to take your gun during a legal stop.
Supposedly they have the right to hold your gun during a stop " for their protection ".

Alas the continuation of the urban myth propagated by the law enforcement agencies. Therefore, a couple of questions arise: